Life is a Movie

When I was a teenager, I had a dull and uninteresting life. I was never proud of who I was. Just a teen geek who loves videogames and old movies. So one day I wish my life would be different. Exciting. A Roller Coaster if you will. Oh boy I was wrong.

So my life started after secondary school, where i met a bunch of friends that i kept hold till today. Most of us are from different schools. Kinda like an outcast from our previous group of friends. We promise to meet up at them mall after our final exams, or SPM. (look it up.) And when i got mine it was good and it wasn’t good at all. Shahz, one of my friends called me and ask what did i get. I hanged up on him and the funny thing was he was out of credit right after(Still sorry dude.). At the end i went to the mall to sorta celebrate our results with a frown on me. To my attention, everyone’s grade was up to their standards even and my mum explained that i was dyslexic and won’t tell me till the day comes cause she didn’t want me to make an excuse for my studies.

So I was left without the option to go to college as my parents were really disappointed with me. I kinda manned up at the time and got myself a job as a waiter at a new italian restaurant. I paid my dues with my parents and learn life long lessons with the job for a year. Learning to be street smart and gaining more friends in the process. The most unforgettable memory I had there was when one night i was about to leave from work, a work friend told me to follow him as he didn’t tell me what is going on. We were all of a sudden jumped by two guys and two girls who are also working with us. The two guys beat him up while i tried to break up the fight, the two guys explained that my friend was spreading rumours about the two girls and the two guys were their boyfriends but i still tried to play hero and not let them continue the beat down. They warned the guy to stop running his mouth and left.I stayed by him till he got a ride home. The following day my friend quit his job and I would not see him again. This incident taught me that not matter  who ever does a bad deed, I would stay right there besides him/her when they are in trouble.

So a half a year has passed, I enrolled myself in college as a multimedia student. woop de do. At my first semester i flunked some of my subjects, in which my parents lost their trust in me again but to be honest i was not coping well with the course . I worked at the same restaurant for another six months and paid off my student loan to get my ass back to school but this time as a Film Student. Oh my, i just found myself of what want to do for the rest of my life. What is not to love. Acting, Shooting, Editing, and showing your goods. But in the mean time I would have a crash course of how ugly life would be. I lost my longest and best-est friend/guitarist due to clashing egos (Rizal you are still a brother at arms), our band was disband right after. My parents went through a divorce. Which i don’t think it affects me a lot (but my sister begs to differ). And my ex and i had a rough time with our ups and downs and the different worlds we live in. But thanks to her i wouldn’t be as patient i would ever be. When all is wrong in life, I would always fall on my biggest love, that would be my movies. When all else fails your true love would always be there for you. That’s what my future was to me. My movies is my permanent lover.

School is done, so it’s time to find a job. So i went to the first real job I ever had as an Assistant Producer at the place i joined when i was interning for free. I worked my socks off for the job as i was a free lancer at that moment but due to the owner of the production house was testing my patients with critical remarks and underpaid wages, i quit that job. So i moved on as i promised myself not to lose my focus of where i would wanna be. I work in the Casting Department as a free lancer again for 4 commercials, and the 4 best jobs i have ever handle at the moment. Casted over 100 kids for two of commercials and over 50 hot actresses for another. But i was not prepare what comes after, I was in a slump as they are paying me really late then expected. So i had to find a day job, where i did with my dad as an Animator, and animation is never my strong point but the work ethics and time constrain are really getting to me. I couldn’t take it as well when i feel this is not what i’m suppose to do.One Day I went to a job interview as an Editor. The Chief Editor who was interviewing me ask if i have ever edited (apart from school stuff..Nope?), but he really likes me for a reason i would still never understood till today(maybe cause I’m honest.) and gave me the job straight away. I left the animation job and went right back on track to where i want to be, where i love, and still holding on to this job for 2 years now and happier than ever. The crap people put me into, belittle me, push me down, and punch me in the face, i’ll stand right back up and fight back when it comes to my love. As i would never give this up and would never turn my back to my destiny and talents.

A year has past as an editor. I have found the woman of my dreams. The most caring, selfless, innocent, beautiful and smartest person i have ever met, who supports of what i do for a living and helps me chase my dreams. She Just brings the best out of me. Pushing me to the limit to make my own team of team of three called Black Frames to shoot shortfilms and sketches. The best part of the year was the luck that i have been having. I own a Camera, an iMac and a Laptop with her help. She just is there for me and always supports me in what ever i do even with a bad start we had, but she still proves me that there is no one like her in this world that fits my jigsaw puzzle piece.  And a year after, we are still together and in love like the first time we said our “i love yous”.  Hoping for a better future for the both of us and our dreams of being the best ever Movie Maker and Doctor duo. As we will live happily ever after.

Life gives you lemons, you make lemonades. That’s what i have been living with for the past 25 years. I’m not a well off guy with parents that gives me everything i want, but the total opposite of it. I was squashed and trampled on multiple times, but I still stand tall of who I am. I’m an honest guy, who is not scared to dream big and push myself to my limits for what i believe in. I’m a World Conquerer and I’m not afraid of anything.

Johariz M. Sani

Leave a Reply

