A Letter to Mr. Bemis

I was going through my Facebook the other day and found a post by an old friend. She states that Frank Turner is her hero for saving her through a meltdown she had with just a simple reply to her email. It got to me, I guess I should write about my musical hero, Max Bemis. Yeah, he and his wife, Sherri both did tweet me to me once and I don’t expect much. I just want to share my story to him.

I discovered Say Anything at the age of 18 in 2006. I was discovering bands in Yahoo Music at the time and once I heard Alive with The Glory of Love, I knew this band was special to me. From teenage rebellion to ambitious film student to surviving soul. A lot have change but something remains, my love to Say Anything and music in general. I grew with Max’s lyrics and songs. Not influential but relatable. The aggression, the sorrows, the love & lost and the ranting he makes about the world. What he has been through, I the similar.

I’m grateful for songs like: Admit It!!! A Walk Through Hell, Shiksa (Girlfriend), That is Why, Crushd, Do Better, Say Anything, So Good, Wow I Can Get Sexual Too, People Like You Are Why People Like Me Exist, Judas Decapitation.

Every song represent a part of my love and life. I started with A Walk Through Hell as I’m a hopeless romantic even when my relationship with my high school sweetheart ended. Crushd happened when I fell in love in college and dedicated this song to what I thought again the love of my life. Wow I Can Get Sexual Too is the most evil moment I could have ever experience. That Is Why was when we kept falling in and out of love numerous times as there was a flaw in the relationship and what I saw in her. Do Better kept me going as a single person for a year, working on my career and myself as there isn’t anyone who is as important as oneself. Judas Decapitation is for the fallen childhood friendships and how people want the old depress me than a happier version of myself. Say Anything follows my journey as I would do anything for my first mature relationship. Shiksa (Girlfriend) came to a point when everything actually went smooth sailing thanks to a certain someone. So Good represent that whole relationship and it was our song that we would sing together on slow car rides home. People Like You Are Why People Like Me Exist was the time I survived depression and anxiety attacks from sudden fall out I was having. Admit It!!! will always be my go to song as I rather thankful “with my car and my guitar”.

Yes, I know it’s more of a romance part of my life but these moments saved me and I’ll remind myself time and time again why I’m thankful for Max and Sherri to be together cause there is hope in love after all. Not that I can’t relate on all the depression or bi polar disorder and people wanting the old him, but that’s for another day.

Lastly Alive with The Glory of Love is the song I kept for a special someone that I haven’t found yet or might have but I just don’t know yet. Yes, I’ve played this song for a few girls but not a single one fits a button on this cause for the love I have for this song and band needs an equal person to represent this.

Leave a Reply

